Sep 8 – 13, 2013
Asilomar, California
US/Pacific timezone

Observation of the Dependence of Scintillation from Nuclear Recoils in Liquid Argon on Drift Field

Sep 9, 2013, 4:20 PM
Asilomar, California

Asilomar, California

Asilomar Conference Grounds, 800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3704
Oral Dark Matter Dark Matter II


Mr Huajie Cao (Princeton University)


We have exposed a dual-phase Liquid Argon Time Projection Chamber (LAr-TPC) to a low energy pulsed narrowband neutron beam, produced at the Notre Dame Institute for Structure and Nuclear Astrophysics to study the scintillation light yield of recoiling nuclei in a LAr-TPC. A liquid scintillation counter was arranged to detect and identify neutrons scattered in the LAr-TPC target and to select the energy of the recoiling nuclei. We report the observation of a significant dependence on drift field of liquid argon scintillation from nuclear recoils of 11keV. This observation is important because, to date, estimates of the sensitivity of noble liquid TPC dark matter searches are based on the assumption that electric field has only a small effect on the light yield from nuclear recoils.

Primary authors

Prof. Alfredo Cocco (Universita degli Studi Federico II and INFN, Napoli) Mr Andrew Watson (Temple University) Dr Ben Loer (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Biagio Rossi (Universita degli Studi Federico II and INFN, Napoli) Prof. C. Jeff Martoff (Temple University) Mr Cary Kendziora (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Prof. Chamkaur Ghag (University College London) Dr Christina Love (Temple University) Prof. Cristian Galbiati (Princeton University) Mr Daniel Olvitt (Temple University) Mr David Montanari (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr Fritz DeJongh (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Prof. Giuliana Fiorillo (Universita degli Studi Federico II and INFN, Napoli) Prof. Hanguo Wang (University of California, Los Angeles) Dr Henning Back (Princeton University) Mr Huajie Cao (Princeton University) Dr Hugh Lippincott (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr John Tatarowicz (Temple University) Dr Jong Hee Yoo (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Ms Laura Manenti (University College London) Prof. Luca Grandi (University of Chicago) Mr Pablo J. Mosteiro (Princeton University) Mr Qian Hao (Princeton University) Dr Richard N. Saldanha (Princeton University) Mr Shawn Westerdale (Princeton University) Dr Stephen H Pordes (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Ms Susan Walker (Temple University) Mr Thomas Alexander (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) Prof. Wanpeng Tan (University of Notre Dame) Mr Yixiong MENG (University of California, Los Angeles)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.