Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

Nuclear structure below $^{100}$Sn studied by mass spectrometry

Not scheduled
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Poster Presentations Poster Session


Dr Ali Mollaebrahimi (University of Groningen, University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre)


Mass spectrometry is a versatile and sensitive probe for studying the nuclear structure and decay properties of nuclei. The FRS Ion Catcher at GSI in Germany is a setup for high-accuracy mass spectrometry of projectile fragmentation by using the Multiple-Reflection Time-Of-Flight Mass Spectrometer (MR-TOF-MS) technique. An MR-TOF-MS enables highly accurate, fast and sensitive measurements of nuclei with very low yields and short half-lives, far away from the valley of stability.

One of the interesting regions under investigation is in the medium-heavy and neutron-deficient side of nuclides below the doubly-magic $^{100}$Sn nucleus. The region is known with a resonance in Gamow-Teller transitions due to the large Q$_{EC}$ values close to the proton drip-line and also the special configurations of the nucleons in 1g$_{9/2}$ and 1g$_{7/2}$ orbitals near the $Z=N=50$ shell closure.

In this contribution, we present mass measurements of nuclei near $N=50$, Gamow-Teller strength calculations for the even-even isotones at $N=50$, and new assignments of isomeric and ground states. This includes the first direct mass measurement of $^{98}$Cd ground state and the discovery of new low-lying isomeric states of $^{97m}$Ag [1] and $^{94m}$Rh together with the shell model calculations for spin parity assignments. The discovery of $^{97m}$Ag constitutes the first measurement of a nuclear isomeric state using the MR-TOF-MS technique.

[1] C. Hornung et al., Physics Letters B 802 (2020)

Primary author

Dr Ali Mollaebrahimi (University of Groningen, University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre)


Mr Amanbayev Daler (University of Giessen) Dr Samuel Ayet San Andres (University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Mr Soenke Beck (University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Mr Julian Bergmann (University of Giessen) Dr Andrey Blazhev (Universität zu Köln) Dr Irene Dedes (Institute of Nuclear Physics Polish Academy of Sciences) Dr Timo Dickel (University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre) Prof. Hans Geissel (GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Dr Magdalena Gorska (GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Dr Hubert Grawe (GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Mr Florian Greiner (University of Giessen) Dr Emma Haettner (GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Dr Christine Hornung (University of Giessen) Prof. Nasser Kalantar-Nayestanaki (University of Groningen) Mrs Gabriella Kripko-Koncz (University of Giessen) Dr Ivan Miskun (University of Giessen) Dr Wolfgang Plaß (University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Prof. Christoph Scheidenberger (University of Giessen and GSI Helmholtz Centre ) Dr Noritaka Shimizu (University of Tokyo)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.