Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

Beta-delayed neutron emission of 70,71,72Co

Not scheduled
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Poster Presentations Poster Session


Kevin Siegl (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)


Beta-decay strength measurements are required to constrain the nuclear models, which aim to predict nuclear lifetimes and decay branching ratios. Recently, this became an important research topic, especially for neutron-rich nuclei, relevant to the r-process. We studied beta delayed neutron emission of neutron-rich cobalt isotopes to (Z=28) nickel nuclei to complete the strength distribution measurements which previously used gamma-ray spectroscopy methods. The neutron emission was investigated with the VANDLE neutron time of flight detector array at NSCL. Neutron energy spectra and emission probabilities were obtained, and beta-n-gamma coincidences where they could be determined. The obtained beta-delayed neutron emission for the decays of the nuclei Co-70,71,72 are interpreted using a newly developed framework that combines shell-model and statistical-model calculations.

This research was sponsored in part by the Office of Nuclear Physics, U.S. Department of Energy under Award No. DE-FG02-96ER40983 and by the National Nuclear Security Administration under the Stewardship Science Academic Alliances program through DOE Award No. DE-NA0002132.

Primary authors

Kevin Siegl (University of Tennessee, Knoxville) Mr Andrew Keeler (University of Tennessee) S. V. Paulauskas (University of Tennessee) Mr T. T. King (Oakridge National Laboratory) Dr Zhengyu Xu (University of Tennessee) Dr Robert K. Grzywacz (University of Tennessee, USA)


Mr S.Z. Taylor (University of Tennessee) Dr Christopher J. Zachary (Vanderbilt University) Dr B. Crider (NSCL, Michigan State Univ) N. T. Brewer (U. Tennessee) Dr S. Go (University of Tennessee) M. Madurga (University of Tennessee) Dr Enhong Wang (Vanderbilt University) Dr aleksandra Fijałkowska (University of Warsaw) Dr Sean Liddick (Michigan State University (MSU)) Mustafa Rajabali (Tennessee Technological University) Dr Joseph H. Hamilton (Vanderbilt University) Dr P.D. O'Malley (University of Notre Dame) Dr Matthew Hall (ORNL) S. Ilyushkin (Mississippi State University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.