Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

Gamma-Particle Coincidence Studies of 93Sr(d,p)94Sr via the Surrogate Reaction Method

Jun 14, 2022, 4:30 PM
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Oral Presentations NS2022 Plenary


Andrea Richard (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams)


Neutron-capture cross sections play a vital role in our understanding of heavy element nucleosynthesis. In astrophysical processes such as the intermediate neutron-capture process and rapid neutron-capture process, element formation occurs in neutron-rich environments and involves short-lived isotopes for which capture cross sections cannot be measured via direct techniques. Instead reaction rates in these regions rely on calculations that have uncertainties up to a few orders of magnitude. Recent measurements of the $\beta$-decay of $^{94}$Rb [1], which compared the neutron-to gamma-ray-branching ratio of state decays above the neutron separation energy in $^{94}$Sr, suggest an enhanced $\gamma$-ray branch which would in turn lead to an unexpectedly large $^{93}$Sr(n,$\gamma$) cross section. If confirmed, such an enhancement could have a strong impact on our understanding of nucleosynthesis processes involving nuclei in this region. In order to investigate this potential enhancement of the $^{93}$Sr(n,$\gamma$) cross section, an experiment was performed at TRIUMF using an 8~MeV/u $^{93}$Sr beam impinging on a CD$_2$ target. The (d,p$\gamma$) coincidence data was measured using the SHARC and TIGRESS arrays. Experimental details from the measurement of $^{93}$Sr(d,p)$^{94}$Sr will be presented along with preliminary gamma-particle coincidence analysis using the Surrogate Reaction Method [2,3].

*This work was performed under the auspices of the US Department of Energy by Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory under Contract No. DE-AC52-07NA27344.

[1]. J. L. Tain, et al. Phys. Rev. Lett. 115, 062502 (2015).
[2]. J. Escher, et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 121, 052501 (2018).
[3]. A. Ratkiewicz, et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 122, 052503 (2019).

Primary author

Andrea Richard (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams)


R.O. Hughes (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory) Prof. Greg Hackman (TRIUMF) Daniel Yates (TRIUMF) C. Angus (TRIUMF) Daryl Bishop (TRIUMF) Dr Roger Caballero-Folch (TRIUMF) L. Canete (University of Surrey) R. Coleman (University of Guelph) Barry Davids (TRIUMF) Mrs Sophia Devinyak (TRIUMF, Vancouver, BC, Canada) Prof. Iris Dillmann (TRIUMF) Prof. Adam Garnsworthy (TRIUMF) Shaun Georges (TRIUMF) M. Gott (Argonne National Laboratory) B. Greaves (University of Guelph) Dr Chris Griffin (TRIUMF, Vancouver, BC, Canada) Jack Henderson (University of Surrey) K. Hudson (TRIUMF) D. Hymers (University of Guelph) V. Karayonchev (TRIUMF) E. Kasanda (University of Guelph) Dr Reiner Kruecken (TRIUMF) G. Leckenby (TRIUMF) P. Machule (TRIUMF) M. Martin (TRIUMF) C. Natzke (TRIUMF) K. Pak (TRIUMF) Andrew Ratkiewicz (Lawrence Livermore National Lab) Dr D. Rhodes (TRIUMF) Mr Yukiya Saito (TRIUMF) T. Schilibach (TRIUMF) Dr N. Scielzo (LLNL) B. Shaw (TRIUMF) Dr James Smallcombe (University of Liverpool) Prof. Carl Svensson (University of Guelph) R. Umashankar (TRIUMF) S. Upadhyayula (TRIUMF) P. Virally (TRIUMF) Jonathan Williams (TRIUMF) M. Williams (TRIUMF)

Presentation materials