Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

Study the isomeric state of 16N via the $^{16}$N$^{g,m}$(d,$^{3}$He) reaction

Jun 16, 2022, 11:50 AM
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Oral Presentations NS2022 Plenary


Tsz Leung Tang (Florida State University)


We report the result of a study of the isomeric state in $^{16}$N via the $^{16}$N^{g,m}($d$,$^3$He)$^{15}$C reaction in inverse kinematics at 11.8 MeV/u using the HELIOS spectrometer. The radioactive 16N beam, with a 24(2)% isomer component, was produced using the ATLAS RAISOR in-flight separator at ANL. The simultaneous measurements of the reactions provided the most direct and reliable comparison of the spectroscopic factors due to the cancellation of most of the systematic uncertainties from the experiment and DWBA theory. The ratio of the spectroscopic factors between the $^{16}$N$^{g}$→$^{15}$C(0.74) and $^{16}$N$^m$→$^{15}$C(0.00) reactions was found to be 0.82±0.22. The result indicates that the s-orbital between 16Nm and 15C ground state is similar and the isomer state of 16N is an excited neutron halo state.

This work was supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics, under Contract Number DE-AC02-06CH11357 (ANL), DE-AC05-00OR22725 (ORNL), DE-SC0020451 (NSCL), and DE FG02-96ER40978 (LSU). This work was supported by the National Science Foundation, No. PHY-2012522 (FSU). This work was also supported in part by the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council Grants No. ST/P004423/1 (Manchester). This work also supported by the Hirose International Scholarship Foundation from Japan. This research used resources of ANL’s ATLAS facility, which is a DOE Office of Science User Facility.

Primary authors

Tsz Leung Tang (Florida State University) Dr Calem Hoffman (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Benjamin Kay (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Ivan Tolstukhin (Argonne National Laboratory) Jin Wu (Argonne National Lab) Dr P. Copp (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Melina Avila Coronado (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Daniel Santiago (Argonne National Laboratory) Heshani Jayatissa (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Jeongseog Song (Argonne National Laboratory) Dr Gemma Wilson (Louisiana State University) Prof. David Sharp (The University of Manchester) Dr Hooi Jin Ong (RCNP, Osaka University) Dr Sergio Almaraz-Calderon (Florida State University) Dr Ben Asher (Florida State University) Dr Yassid Ayyad (NSCL, MSU) Prof. Kyle Brown (NSCL, MSU) Daniel Bazin (NSCL) Jie Chen (NSCL) Dr Kelly Chipps (ORNL) Dr Matthew Hall (ORNL)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.