Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

First results from CLARION2-TRINITY: Coulomb Excitation of 49Ti and the proton-neutron interaction

Jun 17, 2022, 11:20 AM
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Oral Presentations NS2022 Plenary


Dr Timothy Gray (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)


The first results from CLARION2-TRINITY, a new charged-particle and HPGe array are presented: Coulomb excitation of $^{49}$Ti. Ti-49 can be treated as a neutron hole plus semimagic $^{50}$Ti core within the particle-core coupling scheme. Reduced electric quadrupole transition probabilities, or $B(E2)$ strengths, for the $2^{+} \otimes f_{7/2}$ multiplet members and candidate $p_{3/2}$ state were measured. The total electric quadrupole strength of $^{49}$Ti is compared to the $B(E2; 0^+ \rightarrow 2^+)$ of the $^{50}$Ti core in search of enhanced quadrupole collectivity, similar to that recently observed in $^{129}$Sb relative to a $^{128}$Sn core [1]. Both cases are near double-magic nuclei and have small core $B(E2)$ values. The results are compared to shell-model calculations with state-of-the art nucleon-nucleon interactions. Any enhancement is in stark contrast to the expectations of the successful particle-core coupling scheme and it is thought to arise when the long-range part of the proton-neutron (PN) residual interaction rapidly develops compared to the short-range pairing interaction (PP or NN). Enhanced electric quadrupole strength is an early signal of the emerging nuclear collectivity that becomes dominant away from the shell closure.

[1] T.J. Gray, et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 124, 032502 (2020)

*This material is based upon work supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Office of Nuclear Physics.

Primary author

Dr Timothy Gray (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)


Dr James (Mitch) Allmond (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Prof. Andrew Stuchbery (Australian National University) Samuel Ajayi (Florida State University) Dr Ben Asher (University of Tennessee Knoxville) Lagy Baby (Florida State University) Caleb Benetti (Florida State University) Dr Soumik Bhattacharya (Florida State University) James Matthew Christie (University of Tennessee Knoxville) Alex Conley (Florida State University) Peter De Rosa (Florida State University) Chris Esparza (Florida State University) Kenneth Hanselman (Florida State University) Bryan Kelly (Florida State University) Sergio Lopez Caceres (Louisiana State University) Eileens Lopez Saavedra (Florida State University) Gordon McCann (gwm17@my.fsu.edu) Ashton Morelock (abm17c@my.fsu.edu) Dr Charlie Rasco (Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Vignesh Sitaraman (Florida State University) Prof. Samuel Tabor (Florida State University) Eli Temanson (Florida State University) Prof. Vandana Tripathi (Florida State University) Catur Wibisono (Florida State University) Dr Ingo Ludwig Wiedenhoever (Florida State University) Ram Babu Yadav (South Carolina State University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.