Jun 13 – 17, 2022
Berkeley, CA
US/Pacific timezone

Investigating the Nuclear Shell Evolution in Neutron-Rich Calcium

Jun 16, 2022, 3:30 PM
Berkeley, CA

Berkeley, CA

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Oral Oral Presentations NS2022 Plenary


Robin Coleman (University of Guelph)


Nuclei away from the line of stability have been found to demonstrate behavior that is inconsistent with the traditional magic numbers of the spherical shell model. This has led to the concept of the evolution of nuclear shell structure in exotic nuclei, and the neutron-rich Ca isotopes are a key testing ground of these theories; there have been conflicting results from various experiments as to the true nature of a sub-shell closure for neutron-rich nuclei around $^{52}$Ca. In November of 2019, an experiment was performed at the ISAC facility of TRIUMF; $^{52}$K, $^{53}$K, and $^{54}$K were delivered to the GRIFFIN gamma-ray spectrometer paired with the SCEPTAR and the ZDS ancillary detectors for beta-tagging, as well as DESCANT for neutron-tagging. Using this powerful combination of detectors we combine the results to construct level schemes for the isotopes populated in the beta-decay. Preliminary results from the analysis of the gamma, beta, and neutron spectra will be presented and discussed in the context of an N=32 shell closure in neutron-rich nuclei.

Primary author

Robin Coleman (University of Guelph)


Prof. Carl Svensson (University of Guelph) Prof. Corina Andreoiu (Simon Fraser University) Dr G.C. Ball (TRIUMF) Dr S.S. Bhatacharjee (TRIUMF) Soumendu Bhattacharjee (CTU Prague) Mr Harris Bidaman (University of Guelph) Dr Vinzenz Bildstein (University of Guelph) Ms S. Buck (University of Guelph) Ms G. Carpenter (TRIUMF) Dr F.H. Garcia (Simon Fraser University) Prof. Adam Garnsworthy (TRIUMF) Prof. Paul Garrett (University of Guelph) Dr Chris Griffin (TRIUMF, Vancouver, BC, Canada) Prof. G.F. Grinyer (University of Regina) Ms M. Hanley (Colorado School of Mines) Dr Alex Laffoley (University of Guelph) Rebeka Sultana Lubna (TRIUMF) Dr A.D. MacLean (University of Guelph) Mr M.S. Martin (Simon Fraser University) Connor Natzke (TRIUMF) Dr Bruno Olaizola (TRIUMF) Ms C. Paxman (TRIUMF) Ms C. Porzio (TRIUMF) Ms Allison Radich (University of Guelph) Dr M. Rocchini (University of Guelph) Prof. F. Sarazin (Colorado School of Mines) Mr S. Shadrick (Colorado School of Mines) S. Sharma (University of Regina) A Talebitaher (University of Regina) Victoria Vedia (TRIUMF) Dr Kenneth Whitmore (Simon Fraser University) Mr F. Wu (Simon Fraser University) Mr D. Yates (University of British Columbia ) Mrs Tammy Zidar (University of Guelph)

Presentation materials