May 29, 2018 to June 3, 2018
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Conference Center
US/Pacific timezone

$B$ and $D$ Meson Leptonic Decay Constants and Quark Masses from Four-Flavor Lattice QCD

Jun 1, 2018, 2:30 PM
South Foyer | Ocotillo Room (Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Conference Center)

South Foyer | Ocotillo Room

Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Conference Center

44600 Indian Wells Lane, Indian Wells, CA 92210, USA


Carleton DeTar (University of Utah)


We describe a recent lattice-QCD calculation of the leptonic decay constants of heavy-light pseudoscalar mesons containing charm and bottom quarks and of the masses of the up, down, strange, charm, and bottom quarks. Results for these quantities are of the highest precision to date. Calculations use over twenty isospin-symmetric ensembles of gauge-field configurations with six different lattice spacings down to approximately 0.03 fm and several values of the light-quark masses down to physical values of the average up and down sea-quark masses. We use the highly-improved staggered-quark (HISQ) formulation for valence and sea quarks, including the bottom quark. The analysis employs heavy-quark effective theory (HQET). A novel HQET method is used in the determination of the quark masses.
E-mail [email protected]
Collaboration name Fermilab Lattice, MILC, and TUMQCD
Funding source DOE, NSF, MINECO (Spain), Junta de Andalucia (Spain), DFG (Germany), SFTC (UK), German Excellence Initiative, EU Seventh Framework, EU Marie Curie COFUND

Primary author

Carleton DeTar (University of Utah)


Prof. Aida El-Khadra (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Dr Alexei Bazavov (Michigan State University) Dr Andreas Kronfeld (Fermilab) Prof. Antonio Vairo (Technical University, Munich) Prof. Claude Bernard (Washington University) Prof. Doug Toussaint (University of Arizona) Prof. Elvira Gamiz (Univ. Granada) Prof. Ethan Neil (University of Colorado) Dr James Simone (Fermilab) Dr Javad Komijani (Technical University, Munich) Prof. John Laiho (Syracuse University) Dr Nathan Brown (Washington University) Prof. Nora Brambilla (Technical University, Munich) Dr Paul Mackenzie (Fermilab) Prof. Robert Sugar (UC Santa Barbara) Dr Ruth Van de Water (Fermilab) Prof. Steven Gottlieb (Indiana University) Dr Urs Heller (APS)

Presentation materials