BLAST Workshop 2018 (7-9 May, LBNL, Berkeley, California, US)




The Accelerator Modeling Program at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory is pleased to announce the first workshop on the Berkeley Lab Accelerator Simulation Toolkit (, to be held on May 7-9, 2018.

The venue will be Shyh Wang Hall (Building 59), home of the U.S. Department of Energy National Energy Research Supercomputer Center (NERSC) at LBNL, overlooking San Francisco Bay.

Who Should Attend?

BLAST includes the codes IMPACT, WARP, BEAMBEAM3D, CSR3D, FBPIC, and POSINST. The workshop will be of interest to users of any of these codes for any purpose. It is open to all who are interested in learning more about these codes, whether as a user or a developer.

Hands-on sessions will be dedicated to specific codes and physics topics. Existing users are encouraged to submit abstracts for 10-minute flash talks to share their experience using the codes.


The goals of the workshop are to:

•  Foster a community of users and developers of the BLAST codes.

•  Share user application experiences and highlights.

•  Introduce new users to codes, and existing users to the latest features.

•  Discuss ideas and needs from the user community.

•  Plan and prioritize future code features and developments.

BLAST frameworks

•  IMPACT: 3-D parallel electrostatic PIC framework for modeling high intensity, high brightness beams in rf proton linacs, electron linacs, rings, and photoinjectors.

•  WARP: 2- and 3-D, parallel, electrostatic and electromagnetic PIC framework for the modeling of charged particle beam generation, transport, acceleration and neutralization in conventional or plasma accelerators, as well as charged-particle traps, laser-plasma interactions, electron-cloud effects, etc.

BLAST specialized codes

•  BEAMBEAM3D: parallel, electrostatic particle-in-cell (PIC) code for modeling strong-strong or strong-weak beam-beam interaction in high-energy colliders.

•  CSR3D: first-principles 3-D Lienard-Wiechert solver for coherent synchrotron radiation. Fit solver (CSR3D) that simulates real-world number of particles.

•  FBPIC: Fourier-Bessel 2-D RZ (+ azimuthal modes) parallel PIC code for simulations of laser-wakefield acceleration and plasma-wakefield acceleration.

•  POSINST: 2-D electrostatic PIC code for studying the buildup of electron clouds; detailed secondary electron yield module. Can be used in conjunction with Warp.


The new Particle-In-Cell Scalable Architecture Repository ( and exascale code WarpX will also be discussed.


Funding acknowledgment: Development of the BLAST codes has been supported in part by the U.S. Department of Energy High Energy Physics, Fusion Energy Science, Basic Energy Science, Nuclear Physics, Advanced Scientific Computing Research, National Nuclear Security Administration, SciDAC and Exascale programs. Development of PICSAR has been supported in part by the European Commission through the Marie Skłowdoska-Curie actions.



  • Abhishek Pathak
  • Angelica Martinez
  • Anusorn Lueangaramwong
  • Arun Persaud
  • Auralee Edelen
  • Biaobin Li
  • Burlen Loring
  • Carl Schroeder
  • carlo benedetti
  • Cheng-Ying Tsai
  • Christopher Hall
  • Christopher Mayes
  • Ciprian Plostinar
  • David Grote
  • David Reisman
  • Dazhang Huang
  • Dmitry Levko
  • Erin Thornton
  • Feng Zhou
  • Gabriel Marcus
  • Gregory Penn
  • Guanqun Zhou
  • Guillaume Blaclard
  • haithem kallala
  • Igor Andriyash
  • Irving Haber
  • Jaehong Park
  • Jean-Luc Vay
  • Ji Qiang
  • Joel Andersson
  • John Power
  • John Wu
  • Junmin Gu
  • Kai Shih
  • Kei Fukushima
  • Kilean Hwang
  • Kookjin Moon
  • lixin ge
  • Marisol Hermosillo
  • Marlene Turner
  • Matt Easton
  • Maxence Thevenet
  • Nicole Neveu
  • Olga Shapoval
  • Oliver Ruebel
  • Osama Mohsen
  • Peiyong Jiang
  • Peter Seidl
  • Philippe Piot
  • Pierre Pelletier
  • Qing Ji
  • Remi Lehe
  • Robert Ryne
  • Roxana Tarkeshian
  • Ryan Phillips
  • Severin Diederichs
  • Spencer Gessner
  • Tianzhe Xu
  • Timon Mehrling
  • Vidmantas Tomkus
  • Vladimir Kolobov
  • Wim Leemans
  • Yue Tao
  • Zenghai Li
  • zhicong liu
Support: Ms. Lucky Cortez